#Nominees "Nominees"

The Nominees for 2023

This year, around 80 top-level research projects were submitted from 30 countries for the BCI Award 2023. Jose M. Azorin, chair of the jury and 5 reviewers carefully selected 12 nominated projects: 


N1: Charles M. Greenspon1, Giacomo Valle1, Natalya D. Shelchkova2, Taylor G. Hobbs3,4, Ceci Verbaarschot3,5, John E. Downey1, Robert A. Gaunt3,5,4,6, and Sliman J. Bensmaia1,2,7

Multi-channel biomimetic microstimulation of the human somatosensory cortex can create intuitive and reliable touch sensations for bionic hand control

1 Department of Organismal Biology and Anatomy, University of Chicago, Chicago, IL, USA.
2 Committee on Computational Neuroscience, University of Chicago, Chicago, IL, USA.
3 Rehab Neural Engineering Labs, University of Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA, USA.
4 Department of Bioengineering, University of Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA, USA.
5 Department of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, University of Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA, USA.
6 Department of Biomedical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University, Pittsburgh, PA, USA.
7 Neuroscience Institute, University of Chicago, Chicago, IL, USA.

N2: Santosh Chandrasekaran, Douglas Griffin, Zeev Elias, Aniket Jangam, Erona Ibroci, Christina Maffei, Stephan Bickel, Adam B. Stein, Ashesh D. Mehta, Chad E. Bouton

Double Neural Bypass: Restoring Lasting Movement and Sensation in Humans

Institute for Bioelectronic Medicine , Feinstein Institutes for Medical Research, Northwell Health, New York, USA

N3: Sean L. Metzger,*,1,2,3, Kaylo T. Littlejohn,*,1,2,3, Alexander B. Silva,*,1,2,3, David A. Moses,*,1,2, Margaret P. Seaton,*,1, Ran Wang1, Maximilian E. Dougherty1, Jessie R. Liu1,2,3, Peter Wu4, Michael A. Berger5, Inga Zhuravleva4, Adelyn Tu-Chan6, Karunesh Ganguly2,6, Gopala K. Anumanchipalli1,2,4, Edward F. Chang1,2,3

A high-performance neuroprosthesis for speech decoding and avatar control

1 Department of Neurological Surgery, University of California, San Francisco,
2 Weill Institute for Neuroscience, University of California, San Francisco. San Francisco, CA, USA.

University of California, Berkeley–University of California, San Francisco Graduate Program in Bioengineering,
Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences, University of California, Berkeley. Berkeley, CA, USA.
Speech Graphics. Ltd, Edinburgh, UK.
6 Department of Neurology, University of California, San Francisco. San Francisco, CA, USA.

*These five authors contributed equally.


N4: Saehyuck Oh1, Jekal Janghwan1, Jinyoung Won2, Youngjeon Lee2, Kyung-In Jang1,3

Behavior to Byte: Stealthy Neural Recorder

1 Daegu Gyeongbuk Institute of Science and Technology (DGIST), Department of Robotics and Mechatronics Engineering, Republic of Korea
2 Korea Research Institute Bioscience and Biotechnology (KRIBB), National Primate Research Center (NPRC), Republic of Koera
3 ENSIDE Corporation, Republic of Korea

N5: D. Blair Jovellar, Pedro Gordon, Paolo Belardinelli, Ulf Ziemann 

Memory enhancement through pathway-selective real-time brain state-dependent magnetic stimulation

Hertie Institute for Clinical Brain Research, Neurology, Tuebingen, Germany

N6: Benjamin Dieudonné, Ben Somers, Tilde Van Hirtum, Tom Francart

A brain-computer interface for real-time hearing diagnostics based on EEG responses to natural speech

KU Leuven – University of Leuven, Department of Neurosciences, Experimental Oto-rhino-laryngology. Herestraat 49 bus 721, 3000 Leuven, Belgium.

N7: Nicholas S. Card*1, Maitreyee Wairagkar*1, Carrina Iacobacci1, Xianda Hou1, Tyler Singer-Clark1, Maryam Vahdati Nia1, Francis R. Willett2, Erin M. Kunz2, Chaofei Fan2, Darrel R. Deo2, Eun Young Choi2, Jamie M. Henderson2, Leigh R. Hochberg3, David M. Brandman**1, Sergey D. Stavisky**1

A rapidly-deployable high performance speech neuroprosthesis

1 University of California, Davis, USA. 
2 Stanford University, USA

Brown University, Providence VA Medical Center, Massachusetts General Hospital, USA.

* , ** denotes equal contribution (lead, senior)


N8: Jerry Tang1, Amanda LeBel2, Shailee Jain1, Alexander G. Huth1,2

Semantic reconstruction of continuous language from non-invasive brain recordings

1 Department of Computer Science, The University of Texas at Austin, USA.
2 Department of Neuroscience, The University of Texas at Austin, USA.

N9: Michael Jigo1, Jason B. Carmel1,2, Qi Wang1,3 & Charles Rodenkirch1,4

A non-invasive neuromodulation interface for on-demand enhancements of central sensory processing

1 Sharper Sense, Inc., 11 E Loop Rd, Tata Innovation Center, Suite 381, New York, NY, USA.
2 Department of Neurology and Orthopedics, Columbia University Medical Center, New York, NY, USA.
3 Department of Biomedical Engineering, Columbia University, New York, NY, USA.
4 The Jacobs Technion-Cornell Institute at Cornell Tech, New York, NY, USA.

N10: Seungbin Park, Megan Lipton, Maria Dadarlat

Toward an Optical BCI: Overcoming the Limitation of Low Sampling Rate for Decoding Limb Movements

Weldon School of Biomedical Engineering, Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN, USA.

N11: Giacomo Valle1, Natalija Katic Secerovic 1,2 ,Thomas Stieglitz3, Marko Bumbasirevic4 and Stanisa Raspopovic1 

Biomimetic BCI conveys naturalistic touch sensations via peripheral nerve stimulation for bionic legs 

1 Laboratory for Neuroengineering, Department of Health Sciences and Technology, Institute for Robotics and Intelligent Systems, ETH Zürich, Zürich, Switzerland.
2 School of Electrical Engineering, University of Belgrade, 11000 Belgrade, Serbia.
3 Laboratory for Biomedical Microtechnology, Department of Microsystems Engineering–IMTEK, Bernstein Center, BrainLinks-BrainTools Center of Excellence, University of Freiburg, Germany.
4 Orthopaedic Surgery Department, School of Medicine, University of Belgrade, 11000 Belgrade, Serbia.

N12: Ahmadreza Keihani1, Seyed Saman Sajadi2, Fatemeh Karbasi2, Ehsan Garosi2, Hengameh Marzbani2, Amin Mohammad Mohammadi2, Shahriar Nafissi2, Mohsen Reza Haidari2, Amir Homayoun Jafari2

An intelligent system for real-time assessment of cortico-muscular coupling index in ALS disease

1 Department of Psychiatry, University of Pittsburgh, 3501 Forbes Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15213, USA.
2 Deprtment of Biomedical engineering, Tehran University of Medical Sciences (TUMS), Iran.

#Jury "Jury"

Jury of The BCI Award 2023


Jose M. Azorin

Chair 2023
Miguel Hernández University of Elche, Spain



Henri Lorach

Winner 2022
NeuroX Institute, EPFL, Switzerland



Monzurul Alam

The University of New South Wales, Australia




Surjo R. Soekadar

Medical University of Charité, Germany



Kara Presbrey

University of California, USA



Ferat Sahin

Rochester Institute of Technology, USA



#Ceremony "Ceremony"

BCI Award 2023 Ceremony

Presentation & Winner Announcements

Date: Tuesday, October 3rd, 2023
Time: 8:00 - 11:00 (Vienna time)
Location: 2023 IEEE SMC Conference